Regardless of marijuana’s legal status across the United States, the entire damn country is out there either getting high, looking to get high or highly offended by people who want to get high.
A recent report shows that nearly 11% of the American populous freely admits to being an honorary member of the great stoner revival, which indicates that more citizens are rolling smoke than in 2012 -- up from 10.2%.
The insurgence of the leaf is due to various factors, including progressive decriminalization efforts and increased legalization on both the recreational and medicinal level. The fact is: Americans are stoned.
Even though there is little doubt that the United States is becoming more of a stoner nation, we were curious to find out exactly what states are smoking the most weed.
We have to admit to being somewhat surprised to learn that pot-friendly states Colorado and Washington were not necessarily at the top of the list for the most smokers. In fact, Washington State didn’t even make the top 10.
Ironically, we discovered the highest state in the nation is also above all the others on the map: Alaska is the leading stoner state with nearly 16.30 percent of its residents reportedly chiefing-it-up on a consistent basis, followed by New England tokers Vermont at 15.97 percent.
Here is the complete list along with each state’s recreational marijuana possession statutes for first-time offenses:
1. Alaska (16.29%): Possession of less than one ounce is punishable up to 90 days in jail and fines up to $2,000
2. Vermont (15.97%): Possession of less than one ounce is a civil infraction and punishable of a fine up to $200.
3. Colorado (15.09%): Recreational marijuana is legal.
4. New Hampshire (14.88%): Possession of any amount is punishable up to a year in jail and a fine up to $2,000.
5. Massachusetts (14.55%): Possession of one ounce or less is a civil infraction with a fine of $100 for offenders over the age of 18.
6. Oregon (14.45%): Possession of less than one ounce is punishable with a fine of $650.
7. Rhode Island (14.32%): Possession of less than an ounce is a civil infraction with a fine of up to $150.
8. Washington D.C. (14.29%): Possession of any amount is punishable up to six months in prison and fines up to $1,000.
9. Maine (13.56%): Possession of less than two and a half ounces is a civil infraction with a fine up to $600.
10. California (12.88%): Possession of 28.5 grams or less is a civil infraction punishable with a fine up to $100.
Mike Adams writes for Playboy's The Smoking Jacket, BroBible and Hustler Magazine. Follow him: @adamssoup; facebook.com/mikeadams73.